An annual awards banquet, Viva Las Vidalias, honored the Vidalia Onion Committee’s most recent crop winners Feb. 16.

About 250 attended the event in Vidalia, Ga.

This year’s attendees included these 2013 Vidalia Onion Committee executive committee members:

* new chairman Kevin Hendrix, Hendrix Produce, Metter, Ga;

* new vice-chairman Jason Herndon, Herndon Farms, Lyons, Ga; and

* public member Myrtle Jones of Toombs County Ag South Farm Credit, secretary-treasurer.

Other 2013 committee members and alternates in attendance:

* outgoing chairman Aries Haygood, M&T Farms, Lyons;

* Barbara Braddy, Braddy Farms, Mt. Vernon, Ga.;

* Brett McLain, McLain Farms, Lyons, Ga.;

* Charlie Robison, Robison Farms, Ailey, Ga.;

* Brian Stanley, Stanley Farms, Vidalia;

* Blake Dasher, G&R Farms, Glennville, Ga.;

* Tina Collins, Plantation Sweets, Cobbtown, Ga.;

* Jamie Brannen, Curry and Company, Statesboro, Ga.;

* Ronnie McLeod, McLeod Farms, Reidsville, Ga.; and

* Jerome Parker, public member alternate.

Grower of the Year and Hall of Fame inductees were also announced.

The 2012 Grower of the Year Award, which recognizes overall achievement and success as a Vidalia onion producer, was given to Ray Farms.

The Glennville-based company produces cotton, corn, peanuts, watermelons, peas and beans, but its main crop is Vidalia onions.

The Vidalia onion hall of fame award honors a person who has significantly and positively impacted the industry. This year, Buck Shuman and Gerald Dasher were inducted into the hall of fame.

Shuman was selected for his method of blending fertilizers to achieve a sweeter onion.

Dasher is remembered as a pioneer for the marketing, growing and distributing of the Vidalia onion.