The Hass Avocado Board, Irvine, Calif., has released the names of its 2013 Executive Committee.

The 2013 Executive Committee includes:

  • James Johnson, chairman;
  • Scott Bauwens, vice-chairman;
  • Bob Schaar, secretary; and
  • Chris Henry, treasurer

One of the committee’s focuses is nutrition research, and the board has commissioned studies on heart health, weight management, type 2 diabetes and healthy living, according to a news release.

“We will focus on achieving four strategic priorities — to build demand in the U.S. market, implement a data system that captures supply and demand globally, support initiatives that will help provide consistent quality product and continue investing in nutrition research that the industry can use to share the news about the health benefits of avocados,” Johnson said in the release.

The board has created a new logo.

“Our old look served us well in the first decade of our existence,” said Emiliano Escobedo, Hass Avocado Board executive director, in the release. “It was more formal and traditional and expressed Hass Avocado Board’s focus on the U.S.”