The U.S. Department of Agriculture appointed 12 members to the Orlando, Fla.-based National Watermelon Promotion Board.

USDA appoints watermelon promotion board membersThe board members are:

  • Joshua Moore, Turkey, N.C.;
  • Daniel King, Chula, Ga.;
  • Jack Wallace Jr., Edinburg, Texas; and
  • Kevin Green, Henderson, Texas.

Reappointed members are Hank Floyd, Malone, Fla.; Brian Arrigo, Estero, Fla.; Dana Strong, Arlington, Texas; John Thomas, Palmhurst, Texas; Tony Moore, Raleigh, N.C.; Brent Jackson, Autryville, N.C.; Leslie Bloebaum, Tifton, Ga.; and Ricky Tucker, Enigma, Ga.

The three-year terms begin Jan. 1.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service oversees the board in accordance with the Watermelon Research and Promotion Act.

The board members administer the program.