A nomination convention for producer and handler positions for Districts 5 and 7 for the National Watermelon Promotion Board is set for 7:30 a.m., Jan. 19, at the Western Watermelon Association meeting in Las Vegas at the New York New York Hotel.

District 5 represents California. District 7 represents Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Nominations will be submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture who will make the final appointments to the 37-member board.

To be eligible, producers must grow 10 or more acres of watermelon and handlers must be the first handler of the fruit to qualify. The open seats are for the term from Jan. 1, 2014, through Dec. 31, 2016.

Currently the board includes 14 producers, 14 handlers, 8 importers and a member who represents the public.

Proxy voting will be allowed. For additional details call 877-599-9595.