The Avocado Producers & Exporting Packers Association of Michoacán received the 2010 National Export Award in Mexico on June 4.

The award has been given every year since 1993 by the Secretariat of Commerce and Industry on behalf of the president, currently Felipe Calderon.

It is awarded to Mexican businesses that have put exceptional effort into improving the country’s global market.

This year’s award was accepted by their chairman at the time, Alejandro Alvarez del Toro.

“This is a national honor of which we are exceptionally proud, and I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all the people and APEAM members who worked diligently to garner such recognition,” Ricardo Vega López, new chairmain of APEAM, said in a news release.

APEAM also elected new board members:

• Ricardo Vega López, a packer, chairman;
• Francisco Falconi Pardo, a grower, vice president;
• Rigoberto Lemus Murillo, a packer, secretary;
• Octavio Gonzalez Villanueva, a grower, treasurer;
• Sergio Paz Vega, a packer, board oversight;
• Carlos Genel Valencia, a grower, board oversight;
• Joaquin Barragan Calvillo, a packer, member at large; and
• Martin Mendoza Torres, a grower, member at large.