(Feb. 16, 6:08 p.m.) The Salinas Valley Chapter of California Women for Agriculture has selected new leadership on its executive committee with members serving one-year terms, said the organization’s new president Colby Willoughby.

The chapter has 60 members between Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz counties with a top priority this year being membership recruitment, Willoughby said.

“One of our goals is to increase our membership from the different areas we cover,” Willoughby said, who also serves as food safety manager for Costa Farms, Soledad.

Among the members of the 2009 executive committee are:

  • Jessica Harris, event coordinator for the Earthbound Farm brand of Natural Selection Foods, San Juan Bautista, first vice president;

  • Brianna Allen, agricultural biologist for Monterey County, second vice president;

  • Amy Sparks, sales coordinator for D’Arrigo Bros. Co., Salinas, co-secretary;

  • Jennifer Skidgel Clarke, food safety manager for Christensen and Giannini, Salinas, co-secretary;

  • Pam McCrumb, first vice president and senior relationship manager in the Salinas office of Rabobank NA, treasurer;

  • Liz Silva, executive assistant at Fresh Express, Salinas, finance director; and

  • Heather Healy, an agricultural biologist for the County of Monterey, membership chairwoman.

“We do a really good job of keeping members informed on the hot issues on the table,” Willoughby said. Those issues cover a broad range of topics from labor to food safety as well as local land-use issues, Willoughby said, and the organization also awards scholarships and participates in local farm day events.

The new committee members started Jan. 1 after being approved by the organization’s outgoing executive committee members last year, Willoughby said.

The California Women for Agriculture Salinas Valley Chapter holds monthly membership meetings the last Wednesday of each month at the Grower Shipper Association of Central California offices in Salinas from noon to 1 p.m.

For more information about the chapter and its activities, please visit www.salinascwa.org.

California women’s ag group appoints new leaders
Among the newly-appointed members of the executive committee of the Salinas Valley Chapter of California Women for Agriculture are (left to right) Liz Silva, Pam McCrumb, Brianna Allen, Heather Healy, Colby Willoughby, Jennifer Skidgel-Clarke and Jessica Harris.

Courtesy Colby Willoughby, Costa Farms Inc.