(Aug. 19, 5:11 p.m.) Growers of apples and other fresh-market commodities in New York are eligible for federal assistance as a result of a hailstorm June 16.

Seventeen New York counties have been declared disaster areas as a result of a U.S. Department of Agriculture ruling announced Aug. 15, according to a news release from the New York State Department of Agriculture & Markets.

As a result of hailstorms this summer, fresh apple volumes from New York could be down by a third. Sweet and storage onions, sweet corn and other vegetable and fruit crops also have suffered hail damage.

New York counties eligible for federal disaster aid: Albany, Columbia, Dutchess, Erie, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Monroe, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Rockland, Schoharie, Ulster, Wayne and Westchester.