(Feb. 11, PACKER WEB EXCLUSIVE) Jenna Stanford, 2007 National Watermelon Queen, will crown her successor at the 94th annual convention of the National Watermelon Association Feb. 20-24 at the Perdido Beach Resort in Orange Beach, Ala.

One of the women pictured here (see photos at bottom of this story) will be crowned 2008 National Watermelon Queen during the festivities and will serve as industry representative, attending trade shows, conventions, in-store retail promotions, fairs, and festivals.

The winner is also expected to meet government officials, personalities, civic groups and consumers as well as make appearances on radio and TV programs in both U.S. and foreign markets. She will give selection tips, explain the health benefits of watermelon and educate consumers on the versatility and economic value of watermelon.

The National Watermelon Queen is selected from several phases of competition over the three days of competition. Seventy percent of total scores come from speech and interview competition, according to information released by the National Watermelon Association.

2007 National Watermelon Queen Jenna Morgan Stanford

Texas Watermelon Queen Kelly Annette Rotzler

Mar-Del Watermelon Queen Stephanie Dawn Abt

North Carolina Watermelon Queen Stephanie Leigh McLamb

Georgia Watermelon Queen Brittanie Lenice Faircloth

South Carolina Watermelon Queen Christina Louise Loftis

Illiana Watermelon Queen Emily Cecile Frey

Alabama Watermelon Queen Katherine Lynn Strickland

Florida Watermelon Queen Tara Nicole Mashburn