Florida agricultural officials are seeking nominations for this year’s round of nominations to the state’s agriculture hall of fame.

Deadline for submissions, which are judged by an independent panel, is Sept. 1.

An induction ceremony is scheduled for February, during the 32nd yearly Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame banquet and awards ceremony at the Florida State Fair in Tampa.

“The Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame was created to honor Florida's agricultural pioneers and leaders,” Florida Agriculture Commissioner Charles Bronson said in a news release. “I hope everyone will take a moment to consider who should be nominated this year for the highest honor bestowed by the agricultural community.”

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Tallahassee, has inducted nominees from many backgrounds, including growers, agriculture teachers and researchers. So far, 128 have been inducted. Their lives and achievements are displayed at a permanent exhibit in the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Foundation building at the Florida state fairgrounds.

Past inductees include Paul DiMare, president of the DiMare Co., Homestead, Fla., and Bernard A. Egan, chairman of DNE World Fruit Sales, Fort Pierce, Fla., the marketing arm of citrus grower Bernard Egan & Co.