Three leaders in the Michigan apple industry have been elected to positions on the board trustees of the Vienna, Va.-based U.S. Apple Association.

Denise Donohue, executive director of the DeWitt-based Michigan Apple Committee since 2003, has been elected to the board for the first time, according to a news release from the committee. Donohue will serve on the board’s education committee.

Fred Leitz, a partner in Leitz Farms, Sodus, Mich., also has been elected to the board for the first time. Leitz, who serves as the eastern vice president of the National Council of Agricultural Employers, is a prominent supporter of a guest worker program.

Julia Rothwell of Belding, Mich.-based Belding Fruit Storage was re-elected to the board. Rothwell, a board member since 2002, was elected vice chairwoman of the association and chairwoman of the public affairs committee. Rothwell also has served, since 2001, as a member of the Michigan Apple Committee’s board of directors.