(May 23) Grower members of Florida Citrus Mutual, the state’s largest citrus trade organization, May 11 elected two new directors and re-elected 19 others to govern the association for the 2006-07 season.

The two new members elected to the board of directors are:

  • John Smoak III, general manager of Smoak Groves, Inc., Lake Placid; and

  • Victor Story Jr., president of Story Grove Service, Inc., Lake Wales.

Re-elected were:

  • David Evans, vice president of Nelson & Co., Oviedo, Fla.;

  • Rex Clonts, owner of Clonts Farms Inc., Apopka;

  • Richard Freeman, president of P.H. Freeman & Sons, Winter Garden;

  • Bob Battaglia, vice president of Battaglia Fruit Co., Winter Park;

  • George Neukom III, vice president of Neukom Properties Inc., Zephyrhills;

  • P. Louis Haverlock, president of Lou Ross Citrus Inc., Balm;

  • Fran Becker, vice president of fruit procurement for Peace River Citrus Products Inc., Bradenton;

  • J.A. "Jay" Clark III, Florida Citrus Mutual interim chief executive officer and owner of Clark Farms Inc., Wauchula;

  • Steve Sorrells, owner and chief executive officer of Sorrells Groves Inc., Arcadia;

  • Marty McKenna, president of McKenna & Associates Citrus Inc., Sebring;

  • Charles Lucas, president and chief executive officer of Consolidated Citrus LP, Fort Myers;

  • Wade Timpner, vice president of Jackson Citrus, LaBelle, Fla.;

  • Mark Wheeler, Lake Placid, president of LaBelle-based Wheeler Bros. Inc.;

  • Raymond Bentley Jr., fruit buyer/harvesting supervisor of Bentley Bros. Inc., Winter Haven;

  • Dennis Broadaway, general manager of Haines City Citrus Growers Association, Haines City;

  • J. Brantley Schirard Jr., vice president and general manager of Schirard Citrus Inc., Fort Pierce;

  • Kevin Bynum, owner and chief executive officer of Premier Citrus, Vero Beach;

  • J. Emmett Evans III, vice president of Evans Properties Inc., Vero Beach; and

  • Trey Smith, vice president of Leroy Smith Inc., Vero Beach.

The directors, who serve one-year terms, will be formally inducted at the organization’s second citrus industry conference June 9 at the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa in Bonita Springs.