(April 12) MONTEREY, Calif. — The Produce for Better Health Foundation leaves its spring board meeting with a new strategic plan, a revised decision-making process and a board of trustees.
It’s part of an effort to streamline operations for PBH and clarify the nonprofit’s goals, said Elizabeth Pivonka, president.

The changes were approved at PBH’s annual spring board meeting April 1-3 at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. The meeting also included discussions of the latest efforts to promote 5 a Day, elections of officers, presentations of awards and a charity dinner and auction.


The 13-member PBH executive committee will handle more of the decision-making process for the organization in the future rather than a larger committee. And its board of directors will now be called a board of trustees. The board also approved key changes in PBH’s strategic plan to help make the organization’s promotional efforts more effective, Pivonka said.

Those changes include a revised core purpose, vision and mission focused more on motivating consumers to make more healthful food choices.

The way PBH uses the different 5 a Day logos, and the confusion that can cause, also was a key topic of discussion.

“Is PBH 5 a Day?” she asked April 3. “Really, 5 a Day is a program that PBH institutes. Yesterday, the executive committee reviewed the corporate ID, but there was no consensus. But you may see a change sometime in the next month or two on PBH logo use.”


Robert Verloop, vice president of marketing for Sherman Oaks-based Sunkist Growers Inc., was elected chairman of the 2004 board. Verloop has long been involved with PBH and most recently served as vice chairman and a member of the executive committee.

He succeeds Reggie Griffin, vice president of produce merchandising for The Kroger Co., Cincinnati. Griffin will continue to serve PBH as immediate past chairman and on the executive committee.

Dave Parker, director of marketing for Fruit Patch Sales, Dinuba, was elected vice chairman, and Jan DeLyser, vice president of marketing for the California Avocado Commission, Irvine, was elected secretary/treasurer.