(Oct. 14, 4:10 p.m.) Agriculture secretary Ed Schafer appointed three new members to the Hass Avocado Board on Oct. 2.

Ohannes Karaoghlanian, Temecula, Calif., joined the board as a producer member and Edward Embly, Escondido, Calif., and Casimir Wyantiec, Park Ridge Ill., are alternate members, said Jose Luis Obregon, Hass Avocado Board managing director.

Additionally, Schafer reappointed nine other members: producer members Ben Drake of Temecula; Kenneth Roth of Vista, Calif.; alternate producer member Kay Wild of Vista; importer members James Donovan of Ventura, Calif.; Giovanni Cavaletto of Redlands, Calif.; and alternate importer members Elena Garcia of Chandler, Ariz.; and Pilar Charrada of Los Angeles, Obregon said.

All members and alternates serve three-year terms.

The board approves the yearly budget and business plan and also administers national promotions and research and consumer information programs to maintain and expand markets for hass avocados under the oversight of the USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service, Obregon said.