The United Fresh Produce Association has announced its new slate of officers nominated to serve in 2010-11.

The new board members are scheduled to start their roles on April 20, during the association’s annual conference and expo.

The United Fresh chairman of the board will be Steffanie Smith, chief executive officer of River Point Farms LLC, Hermiston, Ore.

Chairman-elect for United Fresh is Reggie Griffin, corporate vice president for produce and floral merchandising and procurement for The Kroger Co., Cincinnati.

Current United Fresh chairman Jim Lemke, senior vice president of C.H. Robinson Worldwide Inc., Eden Prairie, Minn., will remain on the board and the executive committee as immediate past chairman, according to a news release from the association.

Mike Cavallero, president, North America Tropical Fresh Fruit, Dole Food Co., Westlake Village, Calif., will continue to serve as secretary-treasurer. 

The following United Fresh members are nominated to serve as new board members for two-year terms that begin in April:

  • Will Steele, president of Frontera Produce LTD, Edinburg, Texas, vice chairman of the grower-shipper board;
  • Ron Carkoski, president of Four Seasons Produce, Inc., Ephrata, Penn, vice chairman of the wholesaler-distributor board;
  • Randy Scott, category manager for Food Lion LLC, Salisbury, N.C., as vice chairman of the retail-foodservice board.
  • Walter Ram, vice president food safety, The Giumarra Cos., Nogales, Ariz., chairman of the food safety and  technology  council, on which he presently serves as vice chairman.
  • Paddy Callaghan, chairman, Nature’s Best Ltd., Drogheda, County Louth, Ireland.
  • Emily Fragoso, marketing manager, Coast Produce Co., Los Angeles.
  • Dan’l Mackey Almy, president, DMA Solutions Inc., Irving, Texas.
  • Roger Pepperl, marketing director, Stemilt Growers Inc., Wenatchee, Wash.
  • Bruce Peterson, president, Peterson Insights, Inc., Bentonville, Ark.
  • Ivan Tarriba, owner-director, Farmer’s Best International LLC, Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico.
  • Greg Wohlleb, vice president, Processor Division Packaging of North America, Bunzl Distribution, Inc., Louisville, Ky.

Current United Fresh board members nominated to new leadership positions include:

  • Fred Williamson, Andrew & Williamson Fresh Produce, San Diego, chairman of the grower-shipper board.
  • Brendan Comito, Capital City Fruit Company, Inc. Norwalk, Iowa, chairman of the wholesaler-distributor board.
  • Mitch Smith, McDonald’s Corporation. Oak Brook, Ill., chairman of the retail-foodservice board.

United Fresh board members concluding service at the April meeting include:

  • Tom Lovelace, McEntire Produce, who was chairman of the board in 2008-09, and immediate past chairman.
  • Al Vangelos, Sun World International LLC, Bakersfield, Calif., who was chairman of the grower-shipper board.
  • Matthew D’Arrigo, D’Arrigo Bros. Co. of New York, Bronx, N.Y., who was chairman of the wholesaler-distributor board.
  • Barry Eisenberg, River Ranch Fresh Foods, Salinas, Calif., who was chairman of the food safety and technology council.

(Note on correction: The story originally had the name of the board that Brendan Comito is the chairman of incorrect.)

United Fresh announces new officer lineup