(May 2, PACKER WEB EXCLUSIVE) The United Fresh Produce Association released a list of those nominated to serve as the chairmen and vice chairmen of its the supply chain boards, beginning May 2008:

Grower-Shipper Board: Al Vangelos, chairman. Vangelos is president and chief executive officer of Sun World International LLC, Bakersfield, Calif.; Fred Williamson, vice chairman. Williamson is president of Andrew & Williamson Fresh Produce, San Diego.

Fresh-Cut Processor Board: Steffanie Smith, chairman. Smith is chief executive officer of River Point Farms, LLC, Hermiston, Ore.; Ron Midyett, vice chairman. Midyett is chief executive officer of Apio Inc., Guadalupe, Calif.

Wholesale-Distributor Board: Matthew D’Arrigo, chairman. D’Arrigo is vice president of D’Arrigo Bros. Co. of New York, Bronx; Brendan Comito, vice chairman, Comito is chief operating officer for Capital City Fruit Co. Inc., Norwalk, Iowa.

Retail-Foodservice Board: Reggie Griffin, chairman. Griffin is vice president of produce and floral for The Kroger Co., Cincinnati. Mitch Smith, vice chairman, Smith is director of U.S. quality systems for agricultural products, McDonald’s Corp., Nampa, Idaho.

Meanwhile, United Fresh said the following industry leaders have been nominated to serve as the chairmen of the United Fresh Councils, beginning May 2008:

Global Advisory Council: David Barney, chairman. Barney is business development manager, Bakkavor, Peterborough, United Kingdom.

Government Relations Council: Mike Wootton, chairman. Wootton is senior vice president for corporate relations and administration for Sunkist Growers, Sherman Oaks, Calif.

Transportation & Logistics Council: David Dever, chairman. Dever is president and chief executive officer of Pandol Bros. Inc., Delano, Calif.

Food Safety & Technology Council: Barry Eisenberg, chairman. Eisenberg is vice president of technical services for River Ranch Fresh Foods LLC, Salinas, Calif.