Help us recognize a potato industry and The Packer need your help in recognizing potato industry leaders.

Each year, and The Packer present either the Potato Man of the Year or the Potato Man for All Seasons award at the National Potato Council's annual awards banquet.

This year the banquet is Jan. 11, 2013, in Las Vegas.

The Potato Man of the Year recognizes someone in the potato industry who has gone above and beyond the call of duty the previous year—or in this case, 2012.

This may be a potato grower who spent countless hours on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., helping educate legislators about the importance of a new Farm Bill.

Or maybe a grower who devoted time to promoting U.S. potatoes domestically or on a foreign trade mission.

Past recipients have included Chuck Gunnerson, Allen Olberding, Albert Wada and most recently, Justin Dagen.

The Potato Man for All seasons recognizes someone who has devoted his or her life to bettering the potato industry. This may be a researcher, who has spent his or her career improving varieties, or maybe a grower who has selflessly spent weeks every year traveling, promoting U.S. potatoes abroad.

Past winners include Larry Young, Dave Smith, Roger Knutsen and Allen Floyd.

The deadline to submit nominations is Dec. 1.

Download a nomination form by clicking here. You may include two additional sheets of paper with the form (not counting the fax cover sheet.)

Fax the form back to Vicky Boyd, Editor, at (209) 571-0419.