The Grower and its sister publication, The Packer, annually recognize a potato industry leader for his or her contributions with a “Potato Man” award.

The recognition is based on input from growers, colleagues and other industry leaders who fill out nomination forms. All forms are kept confidential.

The Potato Man of the Year honors somebody who has devoted time during the past year to further industry causes. Past winners include Allen Olberding, Keith Masser and Albert Wada.

The Potato Man for All Seasons recognizes someone who has spent a lifetime supporting and promoting the industry. Past winners include Duane “Sarge” Preston, Larry Young and Lynn Olsen.

To nominate a deserving individual, simply download the entry form and mail it to The Grower, 1101 Princess Ct., Modesto, CA 95350. You may also fax it to (209) 571-0419 or e-mail it to The deadline is Dec. 1.

The award will be presented at the National Potato Council’s annual meeting awards banquet, Jan. 13, 2008, in Marco Island, Fla.

To subscribe to the print version of The Grower, click here.